The Underdog

Not too long ago, I don’t think anyone would have considered me an underdog, but now I look at myself in the mirror and wondered just what happened in the past two years.

I know it has a little to do with bad eating habits and bad luck but much more to do with perpetuating negative thoughts and giving myself excuses to be lazy and give up. Well, my friends. No more.

I’ve had some really bad days, down in the dumps days in the past 18 months, but some of the worst have been in the past three months. I try to pick myself up, but I continually find myself at the bottom. I want to run again, I want to enjoy life again, and the only way I can do it is shut up already and get it done.

So, I’ll invite you to watch me. It’s been three months since I’ve run due to a diagnosed foot neuroma. Today I received my first cortisone shot ever (in the foot, no less). I will be committing to do something for myself from now on. Let’s do this, for Pete’s sake.

Tonight, in addition to my usual Lenten prayers, one goes out to my dad who had knee surgery this morning. And other for the efficacy of this effing painful shot.

About etowle

I've been a casual runner for five years, but I only just discovered that I can be a FAST casual runner! Follow me as I train for and run my third (and maybe fourth and fifth) marathon. One day, with unfettered dedication, I hope to be at the starting line in Boston.
This entry was posted in Training, Weight loss. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

